Most of the growth in African clean energy money is capital, not companies: the International Energy Agency (IEA) counts private clean energy investment nearly tripling in five years, and the biggest deals on the continent are loans against solar kits, mini-grid assets and electric motorbikes. To judge whether a headline describes company building, check what was financed, by whom, and in which currency.
Key takeaways
- IEA estimates private clean energy investment in Africa rose from about USD 17bn in 2019 to almost USD 40bn in 2024, while public and development-finance funding fell by about a third over ten years.
- The largest recent deals (Sun King, Husk, Spiro) mix equity with debt against physical assets or customer receivables. A large number can say little about new companies.
- Venture capital has funded energy-access start-ups, but at the sector's scale it is a minority of the money needed.
- Four checks separate a financing story from a company story: what is financed, the debt-equity split, the currency, and how many distinct firms are raising.
What the macro numbers show
The IEA's World Energy Investment 2025 chapter on Africa is a good single reference for 2024 and earlier (a 2026 edition has since been published and we have not compared it), and its figures are estimates of observed spending. Clean energy spending stayed below USD 30bn a year until 2021. Private clean energy investment nearly tripled, from about USD 17bn in 2019 to almost USD 40bn in 2024. Over ten years, public and development finance institution (DFI) funding fell by about a third to USD 20bn in 2024, with Chinese DFI spending down by more than 85%. Oil and gas remained about half of energy investment over the past decade.
Context matters. The IEA executive summary says Africa's 2025 energy investment is about a third below 2015, its share of global clean energy spending is only 2%, and debt service equals more than 85% of total energy investment in 2025. In an earlier IEA study, Financing Clean Energy in Africa (September 2023), the agency put Africa at 3% of global energy investment and the cost of capital at least two to three times higher than in advanced economies. A 2024 IEA report adds that Africa has about 20% of the world's population but under 3% of energy spending, and that 21 countries are in or at high risk of debt distress.
Read together: private money is rising from a low base, public money is falling, and the cost of capital is high. That favours structures that turn customer payments into collateral.
Where the money sits: three asset types
Off-grid solar receivables. The World Bank's October 2024 press release on the ESMAP and GOGLA Off-Grid Solar Market Trends Report 2024 says USD 1.2bn was invested in the sector in 2022 and 2023, largely through debt, against annual market turnover of USD 3.9bn in 2022 and USD 3.8bn in 2023. It estimates USD 21bn is needed by 2030, a sixfold increase on current levels, and that only 22% of households without electricity can afford a Tier 1 pay-as-you-go (PAYG) kit. GOGLA's 2025 sales, as reported by Ecofin, reached about 9.26 million kits in sub-Saharan Africa, up 15%, with PAYG up 45% in East Africa and 55% in West Africa. GOGLA data cover its affiliate companies only, and we could not open the GOGLA report itself.
Mini-grids. A World Bank publication, Mini Grids for Half a Billion People, estimates about USD 220bn is needed to build about 210,000 mini-grids, against current mini-grid investment of USD 5bn across low-access countries in Africa and Asia. That is a forecast of need, not a measure of supply.
Electric mobility. The IEA reports Africa's EV spending reached almost USD 70M in 2023, an eightfold rise since 2021. Small in absolute terms, which is why one company raising hundreds of millions changes the picture.
Three deals, read with the method
| | Sun King Kenya (2025) | Husk Power Series D (2023) | Spiro (Oct 2025 to Jun 2026) | |---|---|---|---| | Headline | USD 156M (KES 20.1bn) securitisation | USD 103M | USD 420M in nine months | | What is financed | PAYG customer receivables | Mini-grid build-out, 500 in Nigeria planned | EV fleet and battery-swap network | | Debt share | Senior and mezzanine notes, essentially all debt | USD 60M of 103M (about 58%) | Not fully disclosed; includes USD 50M debt | | Lenders | ABSA, Citi, Co-op Bank, KCB, Stanbic; BII, FMO, Norfund (mezzanine) | IFC and EIB (debt); STOA, DFC, Proparco among investors | Afreximbank, Nithio, Africa Go Green Fund (debt) | | Currency | Local (KES) | Mixed, not specified | Not specified |
Sun King. Citigroup's press release of 28 July 2025 describes a USD 156M (KES 20.1bn) securitisation backed by customer receivables, with a senior tranche from five banks and mezzanine from BII, FMO and Norfund. It covers about 1.4 million products and smartphones. By our own arithmetic, USD 156M over 1.4M products is roughly USD 111 per product financed. That is a lending-book number, not a company-formation number: it measures how much credit is extended per customer, and it says nothing about new firms. Sun King's own site claims USD 450M of local-currency funding raised across Kenya, Nigeria and Tanzania; this is self-reported.
Husk Power. Reported by Daba Finance on 24 October 2023, the USD 103M was USD 43M equity and USD 60M debt, about 58% debt. The company was an established operator; the money builds assets.
Spiro. Ecofin reported on 22 June 2026 that Spiro raised USD 420M since October 2025: USD 100M in October 2025, USD 50M of debt in February 2026, a USD 55M equity round from NewTrails and a latest round of USD 270M. It cites about 100,000 EVs and 2,500 swap stations. Other sources we saw give 80,000 and 135,000 vehicles, so treat fleet counts with caution. Those components add to more than USD 420M. Other reports indicate that the USD 55M from NewTrails topped up an earlier USD 215M tranche to bring the latest round to USD 270M, so the components overlap and cannot be summed. The report does not give a full debt-equity split, which is itself a flag under the method below.
A four-check method
Our reading: most big African cleantech numbers describe how much an existing company can borrow against assets it already sells. That is useful, and it is a different thing from a country producing new companies.
- What is financed? Receivables, hardware or fleets point to a lending book. Product development, software or a new market entry points to company building.
- What is the split? Ask for debt against equity. Husk's 58% debt is typical for asset-heavy builds. If an announcement gives only the total, as Spiro's does for part of its raise, flag the gap.
- In what currency? Local-currency lending, as in Sun King's Kenyan notes, reduces exchange-rate risk for the company. Dollar loans pass it on.
- Who is raising? Count distinct companies per year, not dollars. If three firms account for most of the volume, the market is a handful of balance sheets.
Dollars per unit financed is a fifth, optional check: roughly USD 111 per Sun King product tells you the credit ticket is small and the book is large.
The counterargument
Asset financing is not a lesser outcome. A scalable lending book is how households get electricity at a price they can pay daily, and a company that can borrow cheaply can serve poorer customers. Capital-heavy businesses are also real businesses, with distribution, collections and servicing to run alongside the finance.
The IEA does note that venture capital supplied 40% of the capital to energy-access start-ups since 2015 and that the average off-grid solar deal is about USD 7M. Early equity has seeded firms that later borrow. So the picture is sequential: equity builds the operator, debt scales it. The problem is reading the debt stage as evidence of the equity stage.
Buyer guidance
If you are an investor or analyst:
- Strip each announcement into equity, debt, grants and guarantees before comparing years.
- Track number of distinct raising companies and median round size, not totals.
- Treat self-reported funding totals as claims until a lender or regulator confirms them.
If you are a European partner or buyer of energy services:
- Ask a supplier what share of its revenue is hardware sales, customer payments, or financing income.
- Check who carries repayment risk if customers default.
- For country scoping, use the cleantech category and the directory as a starting list, then confirm each firm's financing with its published disclosures. The intelligence section collects our reading of wider market data.
If you are a founder: disclose the equity-debt split and the currency. Readers increasingly check.
Frequently asked questions
Is African cleantech investment growing? Private clean energy investment rose from about USD 17bn in 2019 to almost USD 40bn in 2024 per the IEA, but total African energy investment in 2025 is still about a third below 2015.
Does a large cleantech funding round mean more startups? Not necessarily. Many large rounds are loans against assets or receivables raised by established firms, so check the debt-equity split and how many companies are raising.
How much of off-grid solar investment is debt? The World Bank says USD 1.2bn invested in 2022 and 2023 was largely through debt. It does not give an exact share in the press release.
Why is local-currency financing significant? Customers pay in local money, so borrowing in the same currency avoids exchange-rate losses for the company.
Sources
- International Energy Agency - World Energy Investment 2025: Africa (institutional)
- International Energy Agency - World Energy Investment 2025: Executive summary (institutional)
- International Energy Agency - Financing Clean Energy in Africa (institutional)
- International Energy Agency - Clean Energy Investment for Development in Africa (institutional)
- World Bank - Off-grid solar could provide first-time electricity access to almost 400 million people by 2030 (institutional)
- World Bank - Mini Grids for Half a Billion People (institutional)
- Ecofin Agency - Sub-Saharan Africa off-grid solar sales rise 15% in 2025 (media)
- Citigroup - Citi and Sun King securitization (primary)
- Sun King - Sun King (primary)
- Daba Finance - Husk Power secures USD 103M (media)
- Ecofin Agency - Spiro raises USD 420 million in nine months (media)